Skip navigation

You may have been one of the many Facebook users contacted by the company last week about the demise of the “Who can look up your Timeline by name” search setting. The Facebook e-mail announcing the discontinuation of the feature goes on to explain how to limit what information you share on the service. Unfortunately, there’s no longer a way to limit the personal information Facebook shares with everyone, especially third-party app developers.The Facebook Help Center states the following:”Your name, gender, username, user ID (account number), profile picture, cover photo and networks (if you choose to add these) are available to anyone since they are essential to helping you connect with your friends and family.”The Electronic Privacy Information Center has filed a complaint with the US Federal Trade Commission related to Facebook’s privacy changes. EPIC’s complaint indicates that the one-click option to prevent third-party application developers from accessing your personal information is now “nonexistent.”

Posted via a mobile Android device.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: